# FA Council Members & Committees 2016-2018

## **COUNCIL MEMBERS**

(Appointments for 2016-18)

#### **Executive Committee**

- 1. Brad Byrom, President
- 2. Christina Hata, Vice President
- 3. Scott Fallstrom, Treasurer
- 4. Mark Whitney, Executive
- 5. Mary Gross, Ombudsperson

#### **Council Members**

- 1. Lilian Batista-Edwards
- 2. Paul Clarke
- 3. Jonathan Cole
- 4. Julie Cord
- 5. Leigh Cotnoir
- 6. dara
- 7. Steve Isachsen
- 8. Andrew Layton
- 9. Richard Ma
- 10. Kent McCorkle
- 11. Brent Pickett
- 12. Jeanine Sepulveda
- 13. Nancy Schaeffer
- 14. Herschel Stern
- 15. Steve Vail
- 16. Kristi Wish
- 17. Sean Davis

## STANDING COMMITTEES\*

\*Note: Standing committees have been reviewed and some have changed from the past year to match new circumstances.

#### **Executive Committee**

(*Membership elected*—no appointments)

**Purpose**: As defined by Constitution and Bylaws. Provides leadership and direction for the larger FA and FA Council.

*Membership (elected)*: Brad Byrom (President), Christina Hata (Vice President), Mary Gross (Ombudsman), Mark Whitney (Executive Member), Scott Fallstrom (Executive Member)

#### **Research Committee**

**Purpose**: Conduct research related to working conditions issues. Most research is done to either develop or support negotiation positions. Workload increases as contract negotiations approach.

*Membership*: Steve Isachsen (Co-Chair), Kristi Wish, Jeanine Sepulveda (Co-Chair), Herschel Stern, Lilian Batista-Edwards.

### **Benefits and Budget Advisory Committee**

*Purpose*: Develop proposed budgets and alterations to budget; Work directly with FA appointees to District Budget Advisory Committee to assist in developing FA positions related to benefits.

Membership: Scott Fallstrom (Chair), Brent Pickett, Paul Clarke, Sean Davis, Julie Cord

#### **Bylaws and Constitution Revisions**

**Purpose**: Review Constitution and Bylaws for omissions and lack of clarity; propose changes to the FA Council.

Membership: Mary Gross (Chair), Jonathan Cole, dara, and Nancy Schaefer.

#### **Communications Committee**

**Purpose**: Inform MiraCosta community about on-going and emerging issues related to full time faculty working conditions. This includes assisting with the development of the FA newsletter and web site, as well as planning social activities and coordinating communication efforts.

*Membership*: Mark Whitney (Chair), Steve Vail, Richard Ma, Leigh Cotnoir, Andrew Layton, Kent McCorkle, and Brad Byrom.